“To Be Heavenly Minded….”

I’ve heard several Christians advise other Christians with these words: “Don’t be so heavenly minded that you’re no earthly good.”

How does that make you feel? Some agree with it. It is kind of discouraging to me.

It sounds cute, cool, deep, wise, and catchy, but it doesn’t make much sense to me.

Case and Point: It’s my focus on Heaven that keeps me going and helps me to accomplish any success on earth. It’s my understanding of God that helps me understand what it is to love deeply. I wouldn’t be able to do that much good in the earth without a heavenly mindset.

I’d like to change the narrative and say this:

To be heavenly minded IS to be earthly good.

Now, I get it…some people have the head knowledge about God and Heaven but don’t know how to apply it or interact with people or handle their business….and some people are just super churchy and act like they can’t relate to real life and real issues, (I guess that’s who that phrase was meant for), but to keep it even more real, the super churchy, Pharisee-like, church goers ….. are not necessarily heavenly minded; they could just be tradition minded. To them, we could instead say: “Make sure your focus is on Heaven so you can be alot of earthly good.

A lot of times when people say “Don’t be so heavenly minded that you’re no earthly good,” they mean well and give explanation behind it to still direct the listener closer to Christ. I don’t choose to use this wording because I equate being heavenly minded with studying and following the principles of the Holy Bible. If you equate church, religion, and tradition with heavenly mindedness, then the popular phrase makes more sense. So, yeah, I get….

However, as a writer and lover of words, I take meaning seriously and don’t agree with everything that sounds catchy. We’ve got to be mindful of our audience too. Maybe saying it to someone in the older generation will suffice, but if you’re mentoring, discipling, or giving advice to someone, be clear about what you mean.

Make sure you’re not painting the picture that being heavenly minded is a disadvantage on earth when we know that’s not the case. You know what you mean, but make sure your listeners or readers have a clear understanding ….or maybe just don’t use the phrase. In my opinion, this phrase discourages growth in and obedience to Christ if used too loosely or depending on who is listening. I’m trying to go from faith to faith and glory to glory and I want to be in Heaven and Colossians 3:2 instructs us to: “Set your affection on things above, not on things on the earth.” —- Considering all of that, I can’t get with the “Don’t be so heavenly minded…” mindset.

Pin on Spirituality

Everyone doesn’t hear “don’t be so heavenly minded…” like I hear it or take it like I take it, but for that one or few who do, I’m speaking up for us.

I’m sharing these thoughts so you, reader, can encourage people differently.

Please don’t tell anyone not to be too heavenly minded if you really don’t have to. We need as many people thinking about heaven as often as possible. Wouldn’t our world be a bit more bright shining? Wouldn’t more people be doing the earth some good?

Christians are taught to “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength,” (Mark 12:30) and then when we try to actually follow that teaching, we get hit with the “Oh, don’t be so heavenly minded that you’re no earthly good.”

Let’s look at a few scriptures that show how being heavenly minded IS earthly good.

  1. Matthew 25:34-46

Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’ …

So, here we see that those who inherit the Kingdom are those who (in addition to knowing Jesus) gave food, clothes, their time, and presence to other people. That sounds really good and earthly to me. And guess what? It’s very heavenly minded too. Those on earth who only think about themselves or those who are in church but make excuses of why they can’t follow those things listed in scriptures are the ones who have may have an improper view of what it means to be earthly good.

2. Proverbs 5:18-23

Let your wife be a fountain of blessing for you. Rejoice in the wife of your youth. She is a loving deer, a graceful doe. Let her breasts satisfy you always. May you always be captivated by her love. Why be captivated, my son, by an immoral woman, or fondle the breasts of a promiscuous woman? For the LORD sees clearly what a man does, examining every path he takes.

Once again, this Heavenly book is encouraging earthly good, and in this case, within a marriage. That scripture is all about LOVE, SEX, FAITHFULNESS!! Earthly good? Heavenly minded? CHECK!

3. Ecclesiastes 8:15

“So I commended enjoyment, because a man has nothing better under the sun than to eat, drink, and be merry; for this will remain with him in his labor all the days of his life which God gives him under the sun.”

Sometimes people want to imply that being heavenly minded means being BORING!!! There are some Christians who are so focused on doing things associated with church and bible study that they may not seem to be the most fun people. Give them some time. The more they get to know God, they’ll realize how much He wants His children to enjoy life and how enjoyable living for Him and doing life can. Some fail to realize that God is the one who came up with the good idea of us enjoying life!!

It’s not just these scriptures, but all of God’s Word that tells a story that leads believers to participate in the work of “Thy Kingdom come, thy will be done, in earth as it is in Heaven,” …..for doing our part to bring Heaven on Earth is the most earthly good we can do.

I hope you understand my point of view. Most importantly, I hope you understand the freedom and blessings that come with setting your mind on things above and that you know you can do it while enjoying and going through life on earth. Your relationships, daily life, and ministry will prosper because of it.

Thanks for reading.

Sending love from my corner to yours,

[Ra]Kesha

Leave a comment